Cutting It Out

Personal

Yes, it’s true. I don’t drink. Not anymore anyway. And quite frankly I hope to keep it that way. 

It was a decision I made on the 23rd of December 2015. I like that sort of thing. Keeping track of your accomplishments and seeing how far you have come to just urge you to carry on.

I will admit. It wasnt just a sudden decision. It’s actually something I have thought about for quite a long time…2yrs now if I’m not mistaken. I’ll try explain why – I would always picture this : One evening Im at a bar with friends or at a restaurant about to give my order…I get offered a glass of wine or a shot or a vodka and sprite (this was my go to drink) and I simply reply with, “Oh thank you, but I don’t drink.”                     

Imagine being able to say that? “I don’t drink.” Not just a “not tonight” or “nahh that’s not my kind of drink”…a straight up, “I don’t drink.” Somehow, for so long, that’s what I have aspired to be. To be THAT person.  

  
Of course, being 22 and deciding not to drink anymore right in the middle of season in St. Francis Bay where the party is always happening…it makes it challenging. My answer when my friends or parents or just ANYONE would ask why…”Well, it never brought any good into my life. So why keep it in my life?” *smiles then walks away dramatically* My go to line. My conversation killer. My truth. Because that’s just it. It’s the truth. An extremely summarised and simplified truth…but a truth nonetheless. 

So many years all it has brought was too many regret-filled mornings, terrible hangovers, 2 or 3 evenings where I was paraletic and lucky to have survived, a broken foot, dragging my name through the dirt – which by the way is something I have been taught all my life to work hard to avoid. Not just for the people around me, but in God’s name.

In the end, to get right down to it, I don’t like what it does to most people. How most people view alcohol. I don’t like what my friends become when they drink or the fact that so many people see it as their vice, their go to stress reliever, the only way they know how to be social. You don’t need it to have fun. I have always known this. Now, I’m just actually trying it.

Look…Ive had some good times and massive parties while drinking. Times we really did enjoy. I don’t deny that. But when I look at the bigger picture. When I look at my life. When I look at what it is actually doing to us…it goes so much deeper than just a good party. Then I think…am I the person I want to be when I am drinking? Is that the person I want my family to see? Is that the person I want my kids to see one day? Is that someone that is after God’s own heart? 

I’ll just leave that there,

God bless,

The reformed alcohol-consumer,

Roxanne

One thought on “Cutting It Out

Leave a Reply

