Our Chasing Cars Roadtrip (Part 2)

Travel

The next part of our adventure was a night in the Golden Gate National Park where we stayed at Glen Reenen Rest Camp. By this time on our trip, Sean and I were so organised and accustomed to our little jobs when it came to setting up camp. Sean would set up the tent while I would unpack the table, chairs, supplies, gas bottle and get a rubbish bag sorted. Then he would pump up the mattress and I would make the bed. Quick, easy and neat – just the way I like it! It was this part of the trip where we started getting that “In-the-middle-of-nowhere-camping” vibe with the wild animals and being surrounded by the majestic mountains of the park.

After we had set up we went for a drive up to all the view points. Those mountains looked like they could have gone on for miles and miles, gone on forever. Vast, great, splendid and magnificent. How can one even describe such a sight? Our evening was ended off with yet another delicious meal made by my very handy boyfriend (Did i mention he cooked EVERY meal? I know…How lucky am I?) and a glass of Amarula which became a standard routine for every night before bedtime. Dinner was always followed by me washing the dishes and packing the equipment and supplies away so nothing got wet or stolen during the night. Something I loved about this place was the bathrooms and the communal kitchen. They were clean, had hot water and plug points and the facilities were sufficient. Sadly we only stayed here for 1 night – but I see us going back for much longer in the near future.

IMG_4184.JPG

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Our route then led us to the peak of our trip and the campsite we would stay the longest…The Drakensburg. We stayed at a lovely campsite outside Underberg called Silver Streams Caravan Park. This was definitely my favourite part of the trip. How could it not be? Have you SEEN how beautiful it is in the Berg?

It really was a beautiful campsite. We set our tent up so it was facing the stunning view of the hills and mountains. There was no swimming pool but there was a stream that ran along the edge of the campsite (which was so much better than any old man made pool) and it also provided a swing rope which, of course, Sean used as much as he could. The bathrooms were clean, they had laundry facilities, a convenience store up the road, horse riding trails and waterfalls near the site too…we were more than happy to stay for 4 nights.

We went for a walk down to the little waterfall which used to rush with water all year round, but unfortunately they were having a drought so the tubes we hired were used to pretty much just float around on while catching a tan at the same time (I was not complaining). We also had the chance to go on a 3 hour horse ride through the mountain – I don’t know what we were thinking doing this in the heat we were experiencing – but in the end, the scorching heat was worth it. The horses we had were a little stubborn and misbehaved, but that was all forgotten when we got to the natural pool the horse trail led to. I have never seen anything quite this magical. It was literally as though we were in a movie and I was a mermaid about to dive into my crystal clear sanctuary. It’s clear blue water, the waterfall flowing into the pond and the smoothest of smooth rocks you could use to sit on in the water…it was literally like a photo you would use as your computer screensaver or something. If there is anything I would want to do again, it would be to swim in that beautiful pool again.

The day before we were supposed to leave, our trip was unfortunately cut short due to excessive rain and a flooded camp site. So we packed up and headed to Kokstad where we stayed at a BnB before we headed to our final stop…East London.

IMG_4185

 

 

We stayed 2 nights at Nature’s Rest in East London. Sadly, our trip was coming to an end and this was our last stop. I can’t say the service was too great and they didn’t have the best facilities but…It really was in a beautiful location and we made our time worth it (even though it was raining on and off too).

We decided to make our bed in the Kombi and move all our supplies to the middle of the tent due to the leak the tent’s windows had. I think we did pretty well when making our makeshift-kombi-bed, considering the circumstances. We were set up and ready for whatever weather could befall us.

Despite all the negatives of our stay at Nature’s Rest, when I look at the time I had with Sean, it could very well be one of my favourite times of the trip with him. We were absolutely content with just playing cards, doing some Sudoku, playing Mancala and watching series on my laptop…we were so content with just being in each others company. We laughed. We chatted about serious stuff. We chatted about light-hearted stuff. I was just pretty happy right there, sitting across from him in the Kombi with the fold up table between us. It kinda got me thinking, “Hey, you know…I could be stuck in a stationary combo for hours on end with you, any day.”

IMG_4158

IMG_4159

 

Far too quickly, we were on our way home. Our adventure had come to an end. 11 of the most magical days spent with my best friend and partner in crime. I dream about this trip more than I care to admit. I think about it daily. Today I had to take out the tent again and clean it and fold it back up and pack it away properly. I had been putting this off for over a month…maybe I just didn’t want to let go quite yet of the incredible adventure we had.

So, I now think and plan and dream of our next adventure. Our next trip as the Travelling Wilbury’s. We are now, avid and professional campers. We can face any conditions. We will be prepared. With Sean’s strength and cooking skills and my constant organising and OCD tendencies…we will be able to conquer any old camping mishap and be willing to chase and cars.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Often my mind drifts back to the time i walked with him and saw the stars, or when we swam in that mermaid pool or when we were playing cards and he was slaying me, a single thought never fails to pop up…”THIS is what I live for. These are the times I want to share with him forever.”

 

God Bless,

The Transformed Adventure Seeker,

Roxanne

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

