My Adventure In Israel -Part 4-

Travel

Its time to get right down to the family I was part of at Kibbutz Yotvata.

One person I met, who actually needs a whole post dedicated to just her, was a young Dutch girl from Holland, Mirjam. Ahh, Mirrie….my heart is filled with so much love for her. The softest and kindest of hearts. She was one person that would stand through all life’s storms and chaos on her faith and love for Christ. I still told her, and I share this with everyone, that if God’s only purpose for me to go to Israel was to meet her, I couldn’t be happier with His plan. I was lucky enough to have her as my roommate and eventually, a best friend, a sister in Gods love.

It was myself, Mirjam and my next dedication, Nir, who were, well, 3 peas in a pod? Nir, my funniest, craziest, silliest and most wonderful Israeli friend. Man, did I have fun with him. Nir is someone who really just doesn’t care what people think when he pulls those funny faces and comes with his quick, witty remarks. I have him to thank for teaching me to be outrageously silly in front of whoever I wanted to. He helped me find a part of me that was able to talk about deep things, or laugh at the stupidest jokes or dance like an idiot without being embarrassed or ashamed. I will forever be grateful for that.

I was able to work with some really amazing people, and get to know them.

Almog, for instance. A heart of gold. A stand-up guy who knows what he wants and is willing to work hard to get there. An Israeli friend, Itay, still said that one day, he is going to send his daughters to him to either marry Almog, or his own daughters – i couldn’t agree more (sorry Almog, but you have no choice).
Then there’s Tal. A man with one of the biggest hearts. He is always able to make anyone laugh when he starts talking about Ace Ventura or Borat. And another thing…this guy can DANCE.
There is Silvina from Uruguay, a little girl with a big voice. Dynamite really does come in small packages. She says what she feels and just doesn’t give a flying duck (I’m not going to curse here, so duck will have to do). But with all her craziness, she has a soft heart and a love for people you cant break. I learned that if anything, she is a friend EVERYONE needs.
I worked with incredible people like Nave – a big sweetheart who didn’t say much but expressed himself on the dance floor every Shabbat. His dance moves will never be forgotten. Juliana, who was also one of my roommates, the Princess of the Dates. She really is one of the most beautiful and cutest things that walk this earth. Anne and Daisy were two Dutch girls that joined us in House Nr. 3. Both being at Yotvata once before, they knew all the “ins and outs” and were always able to wangle ‘off days’ or trips with our boss. Anne, also being someone that tended to just look after all the volunteers as a whole – if we needed to know something, we’d ask Anne. Two, beautiful natures I was lucky enough to come across. Abigial, a young Kibbutznik who I have very close to my heart. What a beautiful girl, Im still waiting to see her on the front cover of all the magazines. Tash, a crazy Australian who could put a smile on anyones face. A favorite expression used by her friends at Yotvata was “Where’s Tash”….she was always wondering around or just plain missing. I had some of the strangest, most lovely conversations with her.
There was Hun, a Korean boy who would always ask another South African volunteer, Pierre, to translate little “expressions of love” into Afrikaans so he could read them to me in the mornings at breakfast. Man, that guy never failed to make me smile. Maayan, an Israeli worker who is now traveling all over Europe. A free spirit with so much love for everything around her. Her soul shone at all times and I was always mesmerized by her creativity and kind spirit. Shaked and Ina, the 2 Israeli girls I firmly blame for my fractured foot – I mean come on, giving me vodka at that time?? Really!!! Yet alas, I had such a good ‘jol’ with them. I got to know Shaked a bit better over time and realized more and more how a like we were. Music, life and the Kibbutz was what we talked about and it was some of the best evenings I could have asked for. Pierre was another South African volunteer who I was able to speak “die taal” with. He always had love to share and a beautiful heart. Itay, an Israeli I got to know while watching Batman or playing chess. I could always have the most interesting conversations with him, hearing his side of things then giving mine. He never had a bad thing to say about anyone, and I admire that. And of course Nathan, our Brit. Wow, did this guy make me laugh – with his appropriate and his, well, not so appropriate comments . As I mentioned before, I went shopping with him and its exactly there that I got to know the great guy he is. I learned some things that made me realize how strong he is and he taught me…’STOP caring what other people think’. Marine and Eva, the twins that lived on the Kibbutz. I will never forget them coming to me one morning to give me a necklace that was given to them about a year before. Their words were something like this, “This was given to us by a friend to give ‘hope’ and strength with our last year of school. We have noticed that you seem a little down lately and we thought it was time to pass this ‘hope’ on.” They gave it to me at the exact time I needed it. I now wear that chain close to my heart.

There were so many people I met who I wish I could have gotten to know so much better. Beautiful people like Kevin (the Ballagan – big mess – from Korea), Diego (a big softie from Colombia), Daniel (Diego’s right hand man from Colombia who was always up to something), Hannah (a little gem from Sweden), Karam (one of the most beautiful Koreans I have come across), Lorena (a beautiful and soft natured soul from Colombia), Gisse (Ecuador), Paula and David (they met at Yotvata and have had the perfect romance since then) , Oliver (California – this guy has the most dry sense of humor you’ll come across), Svenja (Germany), Olivia (Germany – We had some STRANGE conversations while working), Shai (a friend of Tal’s who I was lucky enough to get to know), of course there was also our Volunteer Leader Voulla. Ah, the mother of all the volunteers. We were all so privileged to have her look after us all, make sure we were doing ok, have her to talk to about anything, take us to the hospital in the emergency of a broken foot….the list goes on. Someone I really do have a very special space for.

Closer to the time that I left, I made a very special friend. Someone who has stuck himself like glue to my heart. Not only did we become really good friends, but we clicked…you know, sometimes you just meet someone that you just get a long with right from the start (though that wasn’t exactly the case for us) and you are able to talk about anything and everything. I was lucky to have that with Lior. In such a short time I got to know him so well. Share so much with him. As well as learn so much from him too. He now, heads off to the army for around 4years. The possibility of seeing him again until those 4years are up are very slim…but I will forever be sending love, peace and blessings his way…in all of his trips, adventures and training.

That goes for all these beautiful people I met at Kibbutz Yotvata. I know that the chances of seeing a lot of these people again are really slim. I know thats life. Thats travel. And as we meet people we appreciate what we had with them then move on, meet new people. Different people. But, I know that a lot of these people meant too much to me to just replace or forget or have no attachment to. No sir. I plan on seeing you again. Or as many as I can.
Some day
Some where
And until then,
God Bless
Roxanne xx

10468512_1455700254702014_6581295865602125358_n.jpg

10613160_1455009684771071_5442653719731385341_n-0.jpg

10660200_1460081500930556_2184082191444069901_n-0.jpg

IMG_1150-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

